Member Post – Rachel McDowell

I found my way to an AmeriCorps VISTA position slowly. I had been mulling over serving for years. Both my parents served in the Navy and service to country meant a great deal to them. I wanted to give back to my country too but I didn’t have the heart to be a soldier. Instead, I found myself signing up to serve for a year with New River Gorge National River, a unit of the national park system, assisting in the opening of Camp Brookside Environmental Education Center. This education center was originally built as a residential summer camp in 1947. New River Gorge National River bought the site in 1993 and in recent years has renovated it while maintaining its historic integrity.

I spent my first month just exploring the park and shadowing the various jobs performed. Summertime in the gorge is filled with excitement. The park has lots of programming and I assisted with everything from water monitoring with resource management to photographing Every Kid in a Park events to trailer driving training. I even spent a few days out in the field with various volunteer groups such as Youth Conservation Corps and National Civilian Community Corps.

rmcdowell ycc on endless wall trail.jpgWorking with the Youth Conservation Corps on Endless Wall Trail

Once I got the hang of things, I settled into my real work. The biggest task set in front of me was to assist in reviving Friends of New River Gorge National River, Inc. This nonprofit Friends group will advocate and fundraise on behalf of the park. I was nominated by the Board of Directors to serve as assistant secretary. I was extremely nervous about this in the beginning. I had never served on any student government, I had no experience with meeting notes, and I wasn’t even aware of Robert’s Rules; I was that green. Now, I am more comfortable. I still record all of the meetings to allow me more time to review and make notes (nothing says pressure like having to capture something someone says once with 5 other people talking over them, the recordings are a lifesaver). I have developed a rapport with the board members. The board meetings that once terrified me are now a highlight of my month. I can’t lie, I do still dread doing meeting notes sometimes but there is no fear of messing up anymore.

potluck w friends of new river board of directors at camp brookside.jpgPotluck with Friends of New River Board of Directors at Camp Brookside

Another major task expected of me was to write grant proposals for my site. This was completely new to me as well. I had no idea where to even begin. I started my research on the VISTA Campus. I watched some of the webinars and signed up to take the Vista Blend Resource Development course. However, when I wasn’t accepted into the class due to space, I quickly had to take the initiative and find other resources. This led me to the Foundation Center. I took an online introductory course on how to research grants and how to start forming a proposal. Armed with an arsenal of grant writing tips, examples of submitted grants from my supervisor, and my determination, I wrote my first grant proposal. This proposal was to the National Environmental Education Foundation for an Every Day Capacity Building grant for Friends of New River. I submitted my grant proposal and then the wait began. This grant had a quick turnaround time, so I only waited a month or two before being notified that the grant was awarded! This was a huge win, not only for me as my first grant ever, but also for Friends as it is helping with their logo development, website development, and membership drive efforts.

I also serve as project lead for the park’s Science Youth Nature Camp, SYNCing youth with nature for four counties within southern West Virginia. This involved choosing activities which were curriculum-based, purchasing lunch and snacks, reserving transportation, and purchasing supplies for program set up. I drove to every elementary school within the four counties and dropped off applications, flyers, posters, and a 3 minute promotional video. Once the materials were in the schools, I began getting applications back. I arranged a sign up Excel sheet to keep track of the children who signed up, any allergies or special notes they may have, and to make sure the park has all necessary legal forms for each child. I contacted their parents to let them know their child had a spot and to answer any questions for them. I can’t wait to see the program implemented. It will be wonderful to see youth enjoying the new Camp Brookside Environmental Education Center.

This program can be incredibly difficult at times. It shouldn’t be taken on lightly and I’d suggest doing lots of research before accepting a position. That being said, it is also a meaningful program with immense potential for change. It can help with personal and professional growth. I now have a new skill set to showcase on my resume. I have also figured out more of my life plans and my next direction while in this position. It has been a rewarding experience and I encourage others to consider it.

www.gobridgenet.org 

Leave a comment